Home > SpaceSim > Dreaming of a Realistic Space Simulator

Dreaming of a Realistic Space Simulator

imageStarting from now I’ll start to write about my travels with XNA in bringing to life a dream I’ve always had – that of creating a spiffy space sim game of sorts.  Many moons ago, way before DirectX and Glide, my feeble attempts at creating 3D graphics was rather limited because I couldn’t work out how to do filled-in polygons in assembler. Wireframe was more my thing. We’re so spoilt now days.

Anyway the project is called ‘Vanquish’ (hopefully that name is not taken) and it should reflect the good-old-days of space sims like Elite, Warhead or Independence War I/II. The ship ideally should behave like a something in zero-g and not fly like a plane like some ‘space games’ I’ve seen.

Plus there’s some really interesting scientific publications that would go nicely into the project.

Stay tuned…

EDIT: It is not my intention to release Vanquish commercially

UPDATE: I’ve since renamed my project to the highly original name of “MickyD’s Space Simulator”

Categories: SpaceSim Tags: , ,
  1. 2014/09/13 at 12:24 am

    Hi! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 4!
    Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and
    look forward to all your posts! Keep up the excellent work!

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

