Home > Development > Continuous Deployment in Team Foundation Server 2010 – It Doesn’t “Just Work”

Continuous Deployment in Team Foundation Server 2010 – It Doesn’t “Just Work”

I finally got TFS to deploy my app via a custom TFS build workflow definition to a test environment running in Hyper-V.  It took me about three days to get it going.  I’m yet to know if its all worth it in the end.  Some serious cons I encountered along the way one being that its considerably more difficult to link to TFS “HQ” should your VM not be in the same domain.  Why does MS insist in using NTLM all the flippin time is beyond me.  A test environment will not necessarily have anything of importance we would arguably want secret from the world and locking it up is questionable.

Also placing a VM machine on the domain with machine names generated by Lab Manager with half a GUID in them is sure to annoy the Infrastructure guys sitting near me.  I already had to duck the squash rackets being thrown at me when I mentioned that we need SharePoint 2010 for artefact storage for our ALM projects.  Just kidding guys 😉

The need to deploy Lab, Test and Build agents and all the baggage they come with – just about all the prerequisites for our software!  Just to enable the feature of “‘copying code from the build server to the VM” requires TFS build components on the VM. Ugh. Talk about code bloat.    Well I suppose it saves us having to worry about our product installers having to do it.

A colleague at work once said to me he likes the tools that are “xcopy”-able and don’t install services to minimise the impact on the system.  After looking at TFS CD I can see the wisdom of his statement for TFS is far from it.

Needless to say it required multiple creation and tear downs  of Hyper-V environments. Microsoft System Center Virtual Machine Manager must be the most buggiest piece of excrement to come along since oh Office 2010. VMM can’t even handle me renaming an ISO in the library.  Why does it copy by default anyway. Seems inefficient to me. SCVMM takes ages to realise that I shutdown the VM in Hyper-V Console.  An obvious embarrassment for Microsoft when you consider that such a tool is designed to be used in large scale IT deployments.  And what’s that black bar each time I right-click in the window?  I think it’s a shy context menu who wants to remain hidden.

I don’t think we’ll be leaving VMWare non too soon.

Just like SharePoint 2010, TFS continuous deployment is just as tedious and overly complex to setup.  Reminds me of all the Oracle stories.

This is as far from “it just works” as you can get.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

