Flight Sim Project Update

Just a quick update on the progress of my flight sim hobby project. After my work on autopilots I thought it would be fun to expand on it with other systems and see what’s involved in making a flight simulator.

First I improved the visuals slightly from a “blocky” plane to a low-poly plane, added particle effects and aircraft navigation lights.

Next I changed the render pipeline in Unity to the high-definition render pipeline (HDRP) and started to improve the aircraft models.

Next was collosion-detection. Whilst the body was quite easy the wheel collider documentation in Unity left much to be desired. With the colliders in place I needed to ensure that the wheels and struts moved realisticly when the invisible colliders did.

I added animation for the exhaust vents and turbofan, particle systems for the flame, navigation lights, altitude autopilot from before. I must say I’m pleased with how it turned out.

Daytime test:

Nighttime test:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.